Skip to content

TAO Rain, Sea, and Air Data

December 29, 2013

Watts Up With That?

Guest Post by Willis Eschenbach

I got to thinking about the effect of thunderstorms on the surface air temperature. So I figured I’d wander once more through the TAO buoy dataset. The data is available here. I swear, every time I perambulate through that data I get surprised, and I learn things, and this was no exception.

I decided to look at the relationship between sea surface temperature (SST), surface air temperature (SAT), and rainfall. Figure 1 is a graph showing all three of those variables from one of the TAO buoys.

tao0n156e sst sat rain all hoursFigure 1. Hourly data from the TAO buoy at 0°N, 156°E (in the Pacific warm pool north of the Solomon Islands). This shows both rainy and dry hours. Black line shows a 1:1 slope, where a 1° rise in SST is equalled by a 1° rise in SAT. Both color and size indicate rain amount. N =…

View original post 512 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

